Veteran's Advancing through Learning, Opportunities & Resources

US VALOR Cybersecurity Apprenticeship Program (CAP)

The US VALOR CAP is a Department of Labor Registered Apprenticeship Program (RAP) within the Cybersecurity employment space for the training of transitioning military and new veterans to prepare them for meaningful, gainful, long term employment, and a successful transition from military to civilian.

US VALOR is passionate about serving our transitioning military and veterans in the civilian world. Our focus is on young military members that are within 6-months of transitioning out of active duty from the US military, and veterans that just left active duty.

Our goal through the US VALOR CAP is to change the story of how difficult transitioning can be primarily by having a program designed and ready for veterans; not just to train them in technical and business knowledge, skills, and abilities but also to train veterans in the soft and life skills they will need to become valued employees.

Apprenticeship Design

US VALOR’sCAP will clearly benefit southern California’s veteran’s community through a comprehensive design that targets veteran’s needs while also helping meet the demand for qualified candidates in the Cybersecurity industry. The US VALOR Cybersecurity certification program has been developed based on the NICE Cybersecurity Workforce Framework, in conjunction with the Depart of Defense 8140/8570  requirements.

The overall design of the apprenticeship program has at its’ core a highly respected and recognizable progressive series of professional cybersecurity certifications.  While there are many technology certifying agencies in existence, our apprenticeship program focuses on our candidates earning highly coveted designations, which are known and respected worldwide, in a very structured and tractable process. 
Upon completion of the full US VALOR Cybersecurity Apprenticeship Program, a candidate will have completed and earned the following certifications:


  1. ISC2- Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP)
  2. CompTIA - Cybersecurity Analyst (CySA+)
  3. CompTIA - Cloud+
  4. EC - Council Certified Network Defender (CCND)
  5. ISACA - Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)
  6. CyberSec - First Responder® (CFR)
  7. SANS – GIAC Security Essentials (GSEC)
  8. SANS – GIAC Certified Incident Handler (GCIH)
  9. Fortinet – Network Security Expert 4 & Network Security Expert 5

Copyright 2018 - 2021 US Veterans Advancing Through Opportunities, Learning and Resources
A 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation